Intro: Dana DiCarlo

Hey guys! My Name is Dana DiCarlo and I’m a junior at the University of Maryland. I’m a Communication major on Screen Shot 2016-03-07 at 12.11.06 PMthe Public Relations track with a General Business minor. I grew up in Mahopac, New York, a small town about 45 mins north of NYC. Some of my interests include: music, dancing, ice cream, and traveling. When I’m not doing homework or studying, I dream of being on the beach with a tropical drink.

I’ve been lucky enough to grow up in the digital age where technology is thriving. Despite the immense progress we’ve made in technology over the past 10 years, there is still plenty of work to be done. Cyberbullying is so relevant in today’s society. From elementary school children, to grown adults, cyberbullying is a problem. Cyberbullying is the use of electronic communication to bully a person. Whether this bullying be through text messages, Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, etc. bullying is not okay on any platform and never will be. I’ve seen my best friends, family, classmates and even myself go through being online bullied at one point in the past 10 years. Across the United States and the world, lives have been taken due to cyberbullying.

Cyberbullying is not, and will never be the norm. Young children especially need to be educated on the technology that they are growing up with and how to use it properly. It’s up to millennials, as ourselves, to stand up and put an end to cyberbullying.

Leave a Reply

